Aussie vegan products reviewed – part 2

food-reviews logo

Continuing on with my newbie vegan ways, I have gone out at last and visited some proper vego/vegan stores: Bliss Organic (a very cool shop in Adelaide, Australia that is about all good things that this whole blog aspires to cover) and Goodies and Grains (another groovy shop near Bliss which sells mostly organic stuff, but also vegan, fair trade and so forth; a lot of the organic grains and such can be purchased in bulk). Together they covered most of the bases of what I was looking for today, although I might end up going to one of the good online sellers as well as they fill in a couple of the gaps and are slightly cheaper for some things.

One thing I learned today: organic non-dairy vegan food ain’t cheap!

When I got home, I had to engage in some “sport-forking”. If you’re not familiar with this, it is the tearing open of all the new stuff you bought and doing the rounds taste-testing each item. Very fulfilling! 😀

I learned a few days ago about how bad unfermented soy is for us (and wrote this entry about it), so that changed my tact today as well. Luckily, there are suppliers that have copped onto this as well.

Anyway, on with some reviews.

NOTE: I am coming from the perspective of a recent/former meat-eater who is not trying to show how much different vegan products are from their original counterparts, but rather if they can stand alone as decent things to eat, while still trying to somewhat satisfy my cravings for the originals. So I’m not going to come down too hard on them unless they are just truly nasty-tasting, but they will get top marks if they are both delicious and provide a great replacement for the original meat or dairy product.

I finally managed to find some non-dairy yogurt, non-dairy vegan cheese that was promoted as being very good, and dairy-free chocolate:

  • VegustoPiquantBETTER277x277Vegusto No-Moo Piquant (dairy, soya & palm-oil free) FLAVOUR: The first smell that hits you is smelly cheese…a good sign! Flavour-wise…wow! Very impressed. Easily could be some unique variant of hard cheddar. Not too sharp but just right. No funny after taste or suspicious flavours within. TEXTURE: good cheesy character; haven’t grated it but seems to be right; dunno if it melts; has a cheese-like mouth-feel. PRICE/VALUE: $11 ($10.50 online) for 200g so expensive. Like fancy-cheese expensive.
  • Coyo Coconut Yogurt – with Pineapple (dairy, soya, gluten & palm-oil free). FLAVOUR: This is a beautiful confection. It’s like eating a piña colada with that lovely pineapple flavor (comes in other flavors too). Smooth and coconutty…yum! TEXTURE: I am not sure I would call this yogurt as the consistency is more like sorbet or mousse-like dessert. These aren’t bad things at all but I am not sure I’d put it with my oats in the morning. PRICE/VALUE: about $5 for 250g (I didn’t get a receipt at Bliss) so fairly pricey. I see it online in the 500g size for $9. It doesn’t say much about the specifics of the cultures in the ingredients so I dunno if you’re getting those quality ones of real yogurt or not.
  • Alter Eco Dark Twist Organic Chocolate (organic, fair frade, soy and dairy free) FLAVOUR: This one has an orange flavor built in which is quite nice. It is wholly reminiscent of other dark chocolates I have had (this one is 60% cocoa) which is a good thing! Easy to enjoy. TEXTURE: very difficult to tell that this Swiss-made chocolate is lacking dairy.  PRICE/VALUE: $5.95 for 80g bar so about 25% more than an equivalent Lindt I suspect.

I also bought some Veganpet Vegan Dog Food today ($4.95 for a 400g tin) and my dog ate it, so that’s a good sign! The ingredients have all sorts of yummy veg and so on, so I’m not surprised really. It smelled like a veggie curry.

I’ve got some Wot No Dairy yogurt to try and a couple of other Rice and Almond milk which I’ll get onto to in the coming days.

2 thoughts on “Aussie vegan products reviewed – part 2

Leave a Reply

